30 Seconds to Mars

On April 16th my writing partner and I are going to see 30 Seconds to Mars. Who are they some of you may ask? They are a band consisting on Jared & Shannon Leto as well as Tomo Miličević.

The reason I’m so damn excited is simple. I listen to music when I write. It helps to produce a certain mood, or is in sync with particular characters. While writing the first six books or so I listened to this band almost non-stop. As a writer I wish I had the words to convey why exactly this music spoke to me in the way that it did but I’ll try.

Its raw, that’s the first adjective that I come up with. To me its bare bones, soul deep and in some instances ethereal. For me music has always been in my life. I can’t remember a time when I wasn’t listening or singing badly to the radio. For me melody, tempo and lyrics have a way of burrowing itself within me and like millions of other music lovers I can’t seem to get enough.

Thier videos are visually stunning and growing up when MTV first appeared on cable I was hooked to that visual medium. With MTV becoming nothing more than a channel for wacked out, self-absorbed reality wannabe’s I discovered other places that I could find video’s.  I saw From Yesterday by these men and my jaw dropped. The song was powerful the images a feast for the eyes made me look up every single thing this band had performed before.

I missed them the last two times they’d made it to Detroit and was completely pissed. As a 42 yr old woman we aren’t supposed to get all worked up over musicians or music. As a child of the eighties though that love for the art of music never left me.

So determined not to miss them again I dipped into my credit and bought a v.i.p package to a venue I love to see live music at. Seeing this show alone was worth the cost. I hope artists know the influence or inspiration they can provide to other artists.

I have many more music artists that provide me with inspiration and I think I may have to add a new category for them and the characters/books they have had a tiny hand in.

So like a 14 yr old girl embarking on her first show I will be in the balcony V.I.P section at the Filmore in Detroit screaming and singing until my throat is raw and voice is hoarse the moment they step up on the stage until the last note is sung.

You can find the Video Hurricane on YouTube Please note this video has a heavily based BDSM theme and may contain images that some may find disturbing. Click at your own risk. The reason I loved this video is simple…..More than half of our books are BDSM themed ones and seeing this was like a cosmic nod to us that we indeed got inspiration was the right source.

I highly recommend that you look up their songs you never know where you may discover your inspiration.

1 Comment

  1. I can’t WAIT!!!!!!!!!! I’d squee, but it would be undignified. Of course, throwing my panties (or the panties of someone who wears a size 0 and pretending they’re mine) on the stage isn’t particularly dignified, either, lol.

    Great blog and love ya!

    Like


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Upcoming Events

    No upcoming events