Liar, Liar Pants on Fire…

We all have sung that song as children. As adults we think we can have calm rational discussions and normally that’s true. With one exception, the exception of that one person who tells so many lies they can’t keep up with them. I’m a real person and understand the lie to protect someone’s feelings, the little white lies  people tell most of the time.

What drives me to the point of wanting to choke someone is finding out  you can’t trust a single thing that comes out of their mouth. When you try to have the discussion you’re rebuffed and made to feel like it’s all your fault. It’s a tactic used by chronic liars. Even if you can ignore the constant barrage of lies and not being able to discern the truth, they come with a giant sense of entitlement and selfishness that only inflates the ability to continue lying.

So what do you do? Do you cut them completely out of your life, even if they are important to you, even if you’ve been life long friends or if you depend on them like no one else? It’s a question I’ve been grappling with a long time now. Do these people even realize how completely selfish they are or is it they really don’t give a damn? I’ve been leaning toward not giving a damn because I can think of no other reason. I am by no means a perfect person, I’ve told my share of lies big and small. What I haven’t done it lie to get out of something instead of standing up and telling the truth. While its a lame justification I’ve done it so to spare the feelings of others. Like I said not a good reason. So I find myself at a cross roads, an impossible and difficult situation. Should I cut them loose and ignore it and just wait for them to hang themselves with their own rope ? Or do I ignore the whole mess and wait for the inevitable blow up that will end friendships forever.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Upcoming Events

    No upcoming events