What I’ve learned at SCHOOL!!!!!!!!

At school you go intending to learn the mechanics of medicine.  Instead I ended up learning one of those life lessons that come along when you least expect it.

In school we recently watched a movie from the Discovery Channel called Inside the Living Body. We were watching it as a lead up to anatmony classes I’ll be taking soon. The freaky thing is what kind of impression this movie left me with. It follows a “Woman” from infancy until death. Beyond the workings of your body, organs hormones and such you realize what an absolute miracle the human body is. It astounded me how things work together in order for humans ( We are very fagile creatures) to grow and thrive.

The scary part was watching what happens to our mind and bodies once we hit our 60’s.  The progeression your skin and other features take through the natural course of aging (Of course this is different for those who choose face lifts and botox.) What struck me was how differetn a woman looks at 40 and then at 60. My first thought was HOLY SHIT we are all so fucking doomed. Our skill cells regenerate at an astonishing pace until we reach a certain age andd then they no longer do it. The synapsis in our brains stop firing off as they did when we were younger and slowly die taking us with them.

The lesson of this movie for me was just how precious each one of us are. A life should be lived well, we should play hard, love harder, forgive and forget. We should never settle for anything less than what we deserve. Trust me if you ever get the chance to see this movie do it. Yeah there is some gross anatomy scenes thorughout.  The message is clear each one of us is a miracle, each breath we take is a miracle. From the minute we leave the womb until the time we draw our last breath is a gift.

Make your life count. In ways big or small make it count. You have an affect on those who love you. You are someone else’s miracle, you carry the DNA of those who came before you. I look at life a little differently now. I’m striving to be the best person I can. I’m trying to take my path in life for myself not for others. It’s not selfish to find your happiness, once you are happy you can gift happiness to others. You will find your compassion and empathy. You will look at the sunrise in a new way, feel the breeze drift across your skin and know you matter. It doesn’t bother you if others think you don’t count, you’ll know the truth.

I am grateful to my teacher for sharing this film with us. I know it will help with my writing. Give me a new perspective on characters and their truly fragile nature.

Fun Medical Fact: If your diaphram is ruptured you die! Look up your anatomy and check where your diaphram is. You’ll never go without a seatbelt again!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

