Music to live by…

I love music. Anyone who knows me will attest to that fact. I’d rather listen to music than watch t.v. I listen when I write. Thank the universe for 30 Seconds to Mars and Shinedown. I’ve found a new one- Coldplay. Now I’ve always liked Coldplay well enough but when I heard the song Magic I was smitten-that and the incredibly hot Chris Martin left  from his snobby wife (not that it ever mattered one way or another) but it made him more attractive. I used to assign songs/music to people in real life.

Don’t do it! I can’t tell you how many great songs/bands I can no longer stand to listen to because the reminders are sometimes(when the mood is just right) I can’t stomach it. The melody, the lyrics. To not over think situations and to take things on face value, not mull over each and every word spoken to me. My therapist calls it growth. I suppose it is. But I know that I’m not special in this fucked-up world we call life. That what I feel isn’t uncommon or even unique. I may deal with it differently now, only because my choices are limited. The old ways didn’t work. Like many before and many after me, i had to hit rock bottom and deal with what was wrong with me. But enough of my story. I bitch and moan on here merely as an outlet for things that are on my mind on any given day and this is my pulpit. I get it out and move on..lol…I’ve been on a tear this weekend…and it feels good.

But I digress, back to the music. Music has the power to bring you joy, to make you feel pain, to remind you of things best left in the past. I haven’t been able to listen to Pearl Jam in 25 yrs because of something that happened years ago. Some people say that’s ridiculous and my only answer to that is they have no soul….period….

Others I can’t listen to- Incubus, especially the song “Dig” I can’t go there.- Snow Patrol-forget it…any country music…won’t touch the shit…The SMITHS- ONE of my FAVORITES of the 80’s….ruined forever,,.all of this music gone from my world…and it still pisses me off.

Adele- she has a beautiful voice for sure, but I can’t stomach the whole “I wish nothing but the best for you.”  because I sure as hell don’t or “We could have had it all.”  Yeah, I don’t think so….What I’d really like to do is give her a throat punch….you didn’t misread it….A THROAT PUNCH…

Amazing- Bruno Mars…makes me want to vomit…. Sappy love songs that promise undying forever kind of love-that’s only for the characters in my book.

Allanis Morrisette was really onto something…especially when she said “…and every time I scratch my nails nails down someone else’s back I hope you feel it…” AM I bitter?…..lol…..No, I’m just a hell of a lot smarter…

SO when you make the sound track to your life..make it about you and only you- not someone else…you only have one life to lead and it is supposed to be a happy one…take the time to be a little bit selfish and surround yourself with the music that makes you happy and your soul sore high.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

