Sunday morning refelections

It’s 8 in the morning and I’ve been a busy girl. The entire house is swept, dusted, vacuumed, mopped and 2 loads of laundry are done. The rest of my day is going to be all o writing and the Lion’s football game.

Okay don’t bang on my Lion’s. I’m a loyal Detroit sports fan and will remain that way until I die. I’ve stuck with this football team since I was 5 and yes I drink the koolaid every season, believing that one day they will pull it out. This season has been a great one for them so far and I’ve enjoyed all the games. Though my kids HATE when I watch it. They scatter as I yell at the television.

But I digress…

My kids are teenagers now and don’t require or even want my attention. Wow, I’ve waited for this for a long time. The fighting, the teasing, the whining are for the most part in the past and I feel an indescribable sense of freedom in that. Don’t get me wrong. I LOVE my kids more than anything but they’ll all be out of the house and in college in four years. Just in time for the big 50.

Of course mom will always be here for them and to welcome them home. I could never retire out west (though I’ve threatened to on more than one occasion.) because I simply could not be near my kids. I was raised that your blood is everything and you do whatever you have to do to maintain the line. Besides I couldn’t live with myself if I wasn’t around to welcome them home if they needed me. To call me if they were in trouble and to come to the rescue when they needed me. And soon enough I’ll have the joy to watch them in adulthood and carve out a life for themselves but they will always know that I’m staying where I am. They will never feel as though I’ve abandoned them even if we are having difficulties. I want to see them fall in love, get that great new job and be at the hospital to hold my grandchildren. This is truly the best time in mine and their lives. It doesn’t matter when difficult times come because my love and support for them never waivers and will never end.  You can never recapture the moments you miss, the tears you’re not there to wipe away, to share their heartbreak and their greatest joys. I’m lucky to be surrounded by my kids and I know I have no regrets because they come above all the bullshit in life.

I dedicate Simple Kind of Man for my kids. This is a special song for me and my oldest son. Every time we see Shinedown together when this song is played we hug each other and sing as loud as we can. It’s going to be the mother/son dance at his wedding. Which better damn well not be for at least 10 years….lol..

Remember people those kids you don’t acknowledge, who you’ve ignored or pushed out of your life carry your DNA. A part of you will live within them and in their children’s children. It’s a gift, never to be taken for granted…EVER. Those that really love you will never ask you to leave them or live without them. Don’t make the mistakes of so many people who are caught up in the moment and make decisions that will eat at you until the day you die. Nothing and no one can replace those babies you held at birth, that you got up to feed at 3 a.m. and who depended and loved you because you were mom and dad. Who clung to you when they were sick and scared and who you see yourself in when they look back at you. I’ve known people who do give up, find replacements and just don’t fight for their kids anymore. I feel so sad for them because they miss out on a part of themselves. And parents who make it difficult for the other parent to have a close relationship with their kids, SHAME ON YOU, you’re no better than the one who abandoned them.

Enjoy you’re legacy in this world, show some strength and never let them go and never leave them .

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Upcoming Events

    No upcoming events