An Evening to myself.

DH & the twins left this morning for Lake Michigan and Blue Lake Fine Arts Camp. This is their 3rd year and it’s 12 glorious days with no phone, pc, tablet or t.v. They love this place. Usually I always go with them the night before but this year I can’t. Because of the store it’s just not possible to take the time off.

Even though they are 15, in my eyes they are still  my babies. I know they will have a ton of fun and meet all kinds of new friends from all  over the world. While they are twins they have completely different personalities. I learned from my sister-in-law who had a set of girls 4 yrs before my boy & girl. She told me to make sure I didn’t put them into the same classes, dress them alike or force them to play with the same kids.

I always kept in mind to encourage their individual interests and have their own friends. Of course they share things in common. They are twins, they are close and even though the majority of the time they are arguing, they always need each other. Luckily they indeed to have their “own” things. No one calls them the “twins” any longer. Now they are C & S…related but very separate people.

I know as a parent I want both my kids to have the same of everything. Same love for things, same circle of friends…it’s easier to keep up with them versus them having everything their own. But man is it worth it. My kids are treated as though they were merely brother and sister and not something more. They’ve turned out to be two very strong kids. They each have their own set of values and what they consider important ( and most of the time it’s exactly the opposite of each other) They do not follow the crowd, they do not allow anyone to bully them and most of all they are two of the coolest kids around. I’m taking my youngest son to the WARP tour, it’s his first concert and I can’t wait to share that with him like I did his older brother.

But for tonight I will be by myself for the first time in two years. It’s a little freaky but I’m sure I will find a way to muddle through….lol…

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

