Words have the Power

We know that words have immense power. If you read a book and you are left with any type of emotion from that book, then you understand the power of words.

They can either be  positive or negative depending on your intention.

What I’ve come to accept is that I’ve used my words in order to produce the biggest insults, the right through the heart, hard-hitting, and just plain mean words that I can think of.

This is nothing new, over my lifetime I have said many, many things that I wish had never crossed my lips. Oh, I could justify each and every one of my words but it really doesn’t matter the reason WHY you’ve verbally dressed people down. It’s the fact that some things you’ve said or have been said to you in anger, stick with you forever.

Sometimes it’s a random memory from 8th grade to fighting with friends. I don’t like these memories. I feel like I’m being haunted at times. I don’t like it, but my actions caused it.

What do I do now?

Well now I can say that I’m truly sorry for the mean, spiteful and hurtful things I’ve said to others over my lifetime. No excuses, no justifications. Just I’m sorry.

I think before I speak. I don’t want to use my anger or hurt to punish. It’s not healthy for you mentally or physically.  I don’t expect anything from anyone else. Expectations lead to big disappointments and I despise being disappointed. It’s not a realistic idea that other people are going to do what you want them to do.

While it may feel good at the time to put someone in their place, make others cry, cut as deep as you can, you will think of it and it will eat away at you. It doesn’t matter if you deny it to yourself, but it will show itself to you somehow. Again affecting the whole Health and Mental thing.

I know a lot of people who claim to be happy but suffer from an almost never-ending series of sickness and various ailments that often sideline them. I used to be exactly like that. This year I’ve only been sick once. A cold knocked me out for a day but that’s been it. Learning to turn my way of thinking around has been a monumental task. After ** years, I think I’m close to getting there.

I encourage my kids, my friends or anyone to be careful what you say and how you say it.

You will leave scars that last a lifetime.

 

 

 

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

