Thankful for the Mitten

First I want to say that my thoughts and prayers go out to those in the mid-atlantic and northeastern seaboards. Even without the big hurricane they are getting pounded pretty hard.

When big storms like this happen, I am reminded how lucky I am to live in Michigan. Yes, we get snow and it gets cold. Summers can be humid but nothing too horrible.

I think the Great Lakes insulate us from the worst of the worst. We don’t have to worry about forest fires, hurricanes, tsunami’s, we have very few tornadoes.

We have white Christmas’s (it would totally be weird not to have snow.).Lake Michigan has some of the best beaches I’ve ever seen and there’s no worry about the harshness of saltwater.

It gets cold and when it does you just add another layer and I really hate the bitter cold so winter is sweater and sweatshirt time.

I love the change of each season and the anticipation of the next. Yes, we complain but when something like the weather out east occurs, I really understand just how lucky I live where I live and I wouldn’t trade it for any amount of money. Coast lines aren’t exactly the smartest places to live. A little vacation spot – Hell Yes!!! But to live their permanently – forget it.

I love Michigan and everything we have – The good and the bad.

Just another reason to be grateful for what I have in my life! As the years pass, things have moved into such an awesome direction. It puts things in perspective, especially about what really matters in order to live a happy, satisfied and fulfilling life. No more searching for something better. No more wanting what I can’t have. Understanding that I deserve good things to happen. And the icing on the cake – I’m good enough just as I am and anyone who doesn’t think so – well their opinions mean nothing to me nor do they affect me in anyway.

I think I’ve been pretty damn lucky this past year and look forward to what the future will bring. It’s a little odd to have all kinds of free time (all 3 kids are off doing their own thing with friends) but I can always find something to do. I’m not much of a t.v. watcher so I get to do all the things I had to put on hold because of the kids. I adore my kids don’t get me wrong but the closer they get to 18 the freer I am with my time and the things I want to do. And I can literally heave a collective sigh because I have nothing I HAVE to do.

At some point I’ll be ready for some grandbabies and I do look forward to that. I won’t be too young and I won’t be too old to enjoy them, spoil them , love them and send them home to mom and dad….lol…..yep  really looking forward to that.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

