Just Breathe

It’s another awesome sunny day here at the store. Next week it will still be in the 50’s & 60’s weather wise. We’ve been so freaking lucky this year with the weather. Here’s a peak out the front of my store.20151114_123744

 

 

A new hair cut and my friend doing my nails makes me so damn happy…lol…..She likes me to show off her work so here it is.Snapshot_20151114

I went to dinner last night with my best friend of 35 years and her hubby. We started talking about just how fast this year has zipped by. It’s a little freaky to realize that time is moving faster than we can keep up with. Being in our late 40’s, he reminded me that in 2 short yrs the twins will be in college and in 10 years they will be out on their own, probably with their own families.

When you’ve been defined as being a parent for so long the prospect of no longer having the kids around is scary. So what do you do when the world is whizzing by and you find yourself feeling like such a big part of your life is over?

You stop, look around at where you are and breathe. That’s right, just breathe. Slow things down. Do what makes you happy and feel good. Don’t do things that make you miserable. Live your life to the absolute fullest, absorbing every minute. Look for the wonder and beauty and fill your life with it.

My poor DH is always on the move. Always doing something and always feels under the gun.

I’m over that. No more waiting for the next big drama, waiting for life to get better, waiting to be appreciated or loved or whatever else that is going on around me. I live for today. For what makes me happy today. I appreciate what I can and the things I can’t I cut out of my life. While it may seem harsh ( especially with family and friends) I’ve discovered it’s necessary.

I want to live, feel, laugh and love – every single day I have left in this world.I used to think this was selfish but not anymore. When I go to bed at night I want to go with a smile on my face.

Of course I know that things won’t always be rainbows and sunshine. I’m a realist and no ones life is perfect. But I’m learning as time goes by to appreciate it.

We talked about making things simple. To live simply (we make about the same money and live in similar homes etc…) Cut out the whining about what we don’t have. As I’ve come to realize you can own everything in the world but it doesn’t make you’re life mean more.

I’ve found in a lot of cases that it is indeed true. Mo’ Money more problems.It’s a hell of a lot more satisfying to love then to have every material thing surrounding you.

Make it simple. Make it about love. Make it count for something. I’m trying not to make rash or quick decisions based on fear of what I don’t know and instead look forward to what life brings me. I plan on enjoying the hell out of the time I have left.

It’s working so far. The store has been a life saver and instead of looking outward for people to tell me I’m doing a good job, or from emotional support from others, I’m happy with what I’ve done so far. I’m happy when I get a new customer in for the first time (which happens a couple of times a day) There is something to be said to have something all your own. I used to think it was selfish but not anymore. We all need something that’s just ours.

When the writing dried up, my life felt so fucking out of control.I was unable to move beyond my circumstances, I couldn’t get out of my own head and wayward thoughts.

My new rules are easy.

  1. Live simply. Money pays the bills but that big screen t.v. doesn’t keep you warm at night. That 50, 000 dollar car is nothing more than a piece of machinery that gets you from one place to another. A modest home can feel like an oasis filled with warmth and love and doesn’t take much to keep clean…lol
  2. Just breathe. Deep breaths in the cool crisp air.
  3. Laugh as much as you can. If you don’t laugh everyday you have some serious problems.Love, love, love. It doesn’t matter what anyone else thinks and doesn’t matter if is returned. Keep that feeling of lightness and joy with you as much as you can. It works even on the bad days.

Wanting to be happy isn’t selfish. Being happy honors life. Honors the time you’re given. Sacrificing your happiness doesn’t give you bonus points in this world. We don’t take the material things with us when we’re taking our last breaths. We take the love we feel and can die with a smile on our face at how lucky we really are.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Upcoming Events

    No upcoming events