I’m in LOVE again!!!!!

With THE LION’S

Detroit Lions

It’s tough being a loyal Lion’s fan, it always has been and always will be. A few weeks ago I was going to cut myself off and find another team to root for.

I mean NO ONE thought they would come away from today in Lambo with a win. For my friends and I this win means so freaking much. With a 1 and 7 start and all the reminders of living through a 0-16 season, the wounds in this state runs deep where our boys are concerned. Just like in the Godfather – they pulled me back in.

It wasn’t an easy game to listen to at work and arriving back home for the last 54 seconds of the game was pure fucking torture. The string of profanities that came flying out of my mouth had my kids telling me to relax.The missed field, losing the onside kick. The up and down emotions that made my heart pound and tummy clench, those are things we’ve become accustomed to but usually with a different ending. Basically, our boys losing.

With all the firings that have gone on in the last couple of weeks and I wasn’t expecting much. But a flicker of hope, of undying loyalty is permanently lodged within me. No matter how awful they’ve played. No matter how many games they’ve given away and no matter how many times I say I’m giving them up for good, they do something like this and I am reminded why I love football so much.

Loyalty, real, true everlasting loyalty is hard to come by. It’s glaringly apparent in sports. I live with a non Detroit sports fan and it has become a bone of contention for me. Dammit we live in Michigan. I love Detroit and my home state and today we came out on top.

It doesn’t matter that they aren’t a great team by any stretch of the imagination. It doesn’t matter how many times they’ve broken my heart. It doesn’t matter if no one around the country has any respect because at some point they show us a slice of greatness. And like all true loyal sports fans we forgive. True we bitch and moan and want things to change. In the end though we’re the same people gathered around the team. Buying their shirts, tickets to Ford Field.

In the face of year after year of bitter disappointment they manage to do 1 thing that negates all that’s come before it. Go ahead and call us stupid, delusional or whatever adjective you can come up with but we wont’ back away from our love for the team.

I’d rather be sitting on the edge of my seat. Feel every emotion from anger to a euphoria that comes from winning something special – give me that every time over not feeling the excitement.

I like them a little bad. I like them when they win and every single Sunday they play I love them even more. Does it drive me crazy? Take me on an emotional roller coaster that leaves my blood humming and I’m warm and so full of energy that I don’t know what to do with myself.

You bet it does and I wouldn’t change it for anything in the world. There are people who don’t like the thrill, the excitement and hey if that’s their thing so be it but you’re not a true fan.

For me there is no better feeling than to be excited and get a payoff that’s only second to orgasm…lol.

We won in Lambo Field for the first time in 24 yrs and I haven’t this kind of feeling in too long…..

I love feeling like I’m really alive and today I’m doing just that……

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Upcoming Events

    No upcoming events