Squirrel 2015

If you’ve seen the movie UP , then you’re familiar with the funny as hell dog. Especially when he has the collar on that gives a voice to his thoughts and he’s easily distracted.

My friends have affectionately been calling me squirrel, making fun of my very short attention span and it’s true. Once I get into something I’m good but if I get bored, or I’m not feeling it-I get easily distracted (squirrel!!!!)

If I’m not doing something at night, I’m generally out by 9 or 9:30 and I hate that.

H.A. Fortman, a wonderful Indie writer and friend was at the store the other day and we were talking about the whole getting distracted easily. I think a lot of writers have this issue or it wouldn’t take so long to write.

Her suggestion to me – Set an alarm. Start for 15 minutes at a time. Make it a game to see how much you can get done before the alarm goes off. I used it yesterday at the store and it worked like freaking magic. I not only got a lot of stuff done but I wrote and read.

Since I am up by 5:30 every morning this will be helpful to me before I go to work as well.

15 minutes at a time. Living for 15 minutes takes the guess work out of what I’m going to do next. 15 minutes also helps to keep me from thinking about things, obsessing about stuff and wishing I had more of everything.

You’d be surprised about all the things you can accomplish in 15 minutes. When my alarm goes off, I have the choice of doing something different. I tend to do tasks I don’t really want to and am able to get them out of the way. I’m also able to take a lot more time doing things are are pleasurable.

As the fifteen minutes get shorter, I will expand the time to 20, 30 etc…

But these 15 minutes are like a pressure release valve and it feels really good.

 

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Upcoming Events

    No upcoming events