Checking Out!

I’ve had it. I’m done with the lies, the greed, the condescension and the nastiness of politics. For the first time since I was old enough to vote, I will not be voting and I doubt I will ever take part of the broken, disgusting process ever again. Even listening to the news or reading articles makes me feel slimy.

Every divisive word spouted off no matter who you like has reached my threshold of what I can tolerate. The lies that roll off the tongues of candidates like butter is sickening. They all lie in some form or fashion and they are certain that we’ll fall for their B.S.

People are choosing candidates based on single issues versus the whole. The misinformation is at an all time high and at this point who the HELL knows what is actually truthful or just wishful thinking. We are pandered to in the most basic way. These people play on our fears and our greed.

I’ve been trying to rid myself cynicism for years now, unfortunately it came rushing back last fall when all these fucking idiots decided to run. The extreme right/left are pandered to and the majority of us who are in the middle are fucked.

Orwell’s 1984 has never been closer to reality than ever before and if you think I’m joking pick up the book. That book which seemed too fantastical when it was written in 1948 is becoming our reality. The have’s rule the world and the have not’s are being left to slowly fade away.

The very idea that in the 21st century, an entire city (Flint) in my home state was poisoned in order to save money is beyond understanding.

I’m not going to worry about the government. I can’t. They’ve deserted the majority in favor of the powerful and wealthy minority and unless there is some kind of radical change, it doesn’t matter who gets in office.

Maybe one day there will be a “Marie Antoinette” moment when those of us who live who’ve the rich gained their wealth off our and our families back get tired of hearing “Let them eat cake.” Rise up as one, not as political parties and toss them all out, but until that day comes, I’m unplugging.

Even if you don’t think about it on a daily basis, watching debates or listening to them blabber on Sunday shows always drags up feelings of dread, anger, apathy and disgust. I don’t want to be part of a process that doesn’t give a shit about my family, my friends or my loved ones.

Every ruling superpower has fallen since the beginning. There was a time when Rome ruled the known world and fell. It’s happen over and over again. Each one thinking they were too big, too powerful to ever lose, EVERYONE OF THEM.

I prefer to spend my time being happy, being whole and being a good and kind person, not someone filled with anger, and regret.

On a positive note, we’ve had some snow this week with a little more to come but starting on Monday it’s up in the 50’s and 60’s and all the awesome things about Spring will begin and all will be right in my little part of the world.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

