1 Year of Gratitude

1 year ago today, I made one of the scariest decisions of my life. I bought a book store. I had retail experience in my 20’s but didn’t really have a clue how to run a small business.

It’s been a year of learning and growing. One I wouldn’t have had without the support of my family and friends. It came at the perfect time. I had a big emotional hole in myself and never thought I’d be able to fill it again.

Being here everyday, working to make it look the way I wanted, kept me so busy that thoughts that used to haunt me started taking a back seat. Old negative feelings that I had blamed on circumstances were slowly fading.

The actual physical work in the store was only the beginning. Customers old and new came in. Day after day. New faces , who’ve become not only regulars but good friends.

Thank you hardly seems adequate when it comes to how grateful for every person who walks through the door. We have fantastic people who come in, have a seat and talk. I’ve been really surprised by the love and even gifts from some of them.

Whether someone spends a $1.50 or $120.00, we treat everyone the same. Hopefully they know they are appreciated and it’s because of them that I’m in business.

The positive impact on my life has been pretty dramatic as well. We all have those really bad days but mine are few and far between. Being helpful and kind. Saying Hello and Thank-you or even something as simple as smiling has help to lift that dark cloud that used to hover above me.

I may never be a millionaire, but finding peace is priceless. I’m pretty happy. I know I’m a much better person than I’ve been in years. I prefer to see the good in people versus the rotten parts. I’ve found something to put my heart and energy into.

The only downside, the one thing I haven’t been able to recover is writing. A few years ago, I couldn’t stop the ideas, the hours of tapping away on the keyboard. This isn’t the case anymore. I try not to think about it too often because it only drudges up stuff I don’t want to get into. At this point I’m not sure if I’ll ever write again. It’s the one thing that I’m missing in my life but with all the good that has come my way, I refuse to focus on this one thing. It’s sad for sure, and I’m a little bitter that my love for writing romances has pretty much disappeared. I wish I could explain why it hasn’t come back but the reasons aren’t important.

I’m grateful. To my friends, my family and too all the wonderful people who come to the store. Karma has been kind to me this past year and gives me hope for an even better 2nd year.

Love,

Sierra

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Upcoming Events

    No upcoming events